Frequently Asked Questions
Most frequent questions and answers we receive from forum visitors.
What is the minimum age to ride a jetski?
A driver or operator must be 16 years of age or older to operate a personal watercraft in the State of New Jersey. Passengers, however, can be any age.
Do I need a boat license to rent a jetski?
A boating license is not required to operate a motor vehicle. However, identification is required in order to proceed. Personal watercraft operators in the state of New Jersey are required to be at least 16 years old according to the state’s law. Because you are entering into a legal contract when you rent the watercraft, you have to be at least 18 years old in order to do so. If they have their parent’s permission, passengers of any age can ride.
Is it easy to ride a jetski?
Yes, NJ alone rents to countless “first-timers” every year varying from teens, to professional athletes, to senior citizens.
How do breaks and neutrals in jetskis work?
Brakes and neutral are not what you might expect them to be in watersports. There are still some Jet Skis without neutral or brakes. On a Jet Ski, the neutral position, which is halfway between forward and reverse, is controlled by a bucket. Don’t be alarmed if the watercraft moves slightly, even in neutral.
The brakes are the same bucket but don’t operate the same way as the ones in your car. When you apply the brakes on a Jet Ski, the machine reverses to slow you down. Because of this, the brake and reverse levers are the same, and applying the brakes will cause the vehicle to slow down and finally move into reverse.
What are 'no-wake' zones?
During no-wake zones, only idle. The white floating cones at a cove’s entrance or near shore and boats are no-wake zones. It is done out of consideration for other people, to prevent waves from wrecking boats, and to keep waves at the ramps for loading and unloading modest. It’s crucial to abide by the laws because the water police frequently issue the most severe fines in no-wake zones.
What do I need to know about operating a jetski?
- Open up the seat before starting the engine. Check for oil, gas, or any fluid in the hull. Examine hoses and clamps and check for the smell of fuel. DO NOT START THE ENGINE IF A FUEL SMELL IS PRESENT.
- Start engine while still on land, let run for about 10-20 sec. to warm up the engine.
- Wear your life vest.
- Attach the lanyard to your vest as this will act as the kill switch in the event you fall off.
- Know how many people can properly fit in a jetski and never go beyond that number.
What do I need to know while riding a jetski?
- Follow all laws and owner’s manual instructions regarding proper care of your jet ski.
- Run your PWC in idle speed for 5 – 10 minutes.
- Check engine compartment a few times a day for water.
- At all times be alert and aware of other people, vessels, and animals.
What should I bring when riding a jetski?
- Each individual on the boat should wear a life jacket.
- Extinguisher approved by the Coast Guard.
- Air Horn or a whistle.
- It’s best if each life jacket has a whistle on it.Safety Lanyards
- Registration Numbers
- If you pull someone, use mirrors (many craft already have this)
- Keep identification with you at all times in a dry bag.
What do I do when I'm done riding?
- Once on land start your jet ski for a few moments to blow out any debris and/or water left inside.
- Drain the hull.
- Flush you ski out as soon as possible after riding in salt water. (Please follow the instructions provided in the owner’s manual)
- Leave the seat off to prevent mold.
- Wash your ski, trailer, and engine to remove salt water.
- Always have maintenance done on a timely basis as recommended by your owner’s manual.
- We recommend using a battery tender to keep your battery in good condition during storage.
What equipment should a jetski have?
- GPS-Enabled Smartphone
- First-Aid Kit
- Bilge Pump or Baylor
- Skier Down Flag (If you pull someone)
- Shock Tube (If you pull someone and to avoid sucking your tow rope)
- Distrass Flag
- Solar Charger